Delete Google Maps history to hide your recent visits

Accessing your location history in Google Maps might seem like walking down the memory lane, but it can also leave the door to your privacy wide open. Fortunately, you can delete Google Maps history automatically, so it stores no information about your recent journeys or tracks your whereabouts.

How to delete Google Maps history automatically?

When users enable settings like Location History or Web & App Activity, Google attempts to provide them with more useful information, like recommending a restaurant or a popular shopping outlet.  It can use the same for providing other services too. However, if you don’t use such services, you can make Google Maps delete history automatically. Also see how to measure distance between 2 points on Google Maps.

Launch the Google Maps app on your iPhone. Tap the profile picture in the upper-right corner of the app screen.

Profile on Maps
Profile on Maps

Scroll down to Your Timeline heading. Tap to select it.

Your Timeline option
Your Timeline option

Now, tap the Menu icon appearing as 3 horizontal dots in the upper-right corner. Then, select the Settings and privacy option. The action when confirmed will direct you to the Personal Content screen.

Settings and privacy for Maps app
Settings and privacy for Maps app

Here, move to the Location Settings section. Under it, choose an auto-delete option i.e., Automatically delete Location History. The option when enabled will continuously delete the location history associated with your Google Account.

Google Maps delete history
Google Maps delete history

You can choose to auto-delete activity older than 3 months 18 months or 36 months. Select the desired option.

Activity Controls screen
Activity Controls screen

Continuing to keep your Location History is your choice. There can be reasons to keep your Location History for shorter periods or extend it for longer periods.

Automatically delete Location History via browser

Open Google Maps and tap on the Menu icon at the top left corner (visible as 3 horizontal bars).

Menu for Google Maps
Menu for Google Maps

In the left sidebar that appears, scroll down to the Your timeline option.

Your Timeline in browser
Your Timeline in browser

At the bottom of the new page, you’ll see 3 different tiles. Select the middle one that reads – Manage Location History.

Manage Location history in browser
Manage Location history in browser

In the new page that opens, select a setting from the Activity Controls by choosing an auto-delete option.

Auto delete history in browser
Auto delete history in browser

Select time duration. If prompted for the confirmation, tap on confirm and proceed further to complete the process.

What is location history?

Location history is a setting that lets Google Maps save places where you go with your devices, even when you aren’t using a specific Google service. So, when you choose to keep your location history, you can get more personalized experiences, like a private map of where you’ve been and recommendations based on places you’ve visited.

What happens after you delete some or all Location History

If you delete some or all of your Location History, some personalized experiences across Google may be degraded or lost.

By the way, do you know how to change home on Google Maps??